Stefano Gai - Copyright Maserati/Mario Chiarappa

Free practice

Valencia - ESP

Marcel Pawlicek 

Zumerle stands out

17/09/2010 - Valencia
Pietro Zumerle was focused from the off. He wasted no time in getting his Valencia weekend off to a solid start in what is the penultimate round of the Trofeo Maserati GranTurismo MC.

His time of 1:45.538 in the first session at a sweltering “Ricardo Tormo” circuit topped the timesheet. Behind Zumerle came Sergio Rota (1:46.409), who showed he feels very much at home here and was the lead man for most of the session. In third is the Director of MotorMedia magazine, Paolo Necchi, who maintained his pace after collecting a win at Oschersleben in Germany.
Next up came Gaetano Ardagna Perez whose time of 1:47.393 was set on his ninth lap. Smurra, driving a Swiss Team car making its debut in Maserati’s single-make series, placed fifth. Overall leaders Goldstein/Sundberg came in sixth, followed by the returning Francesco Maggi and by La Mazza.
Valencia will see two journalists get behind the wheel: Jaime Hernandez from El Mundo and Fernando Gomez Blanco from Automovil magazine. Blanco, from Madrid, edged this personal battle but only a few tenths separated them (1:50.575 against 1:50.591; ninth against tenth). Bringing up the rear is Segler, Frazza and Pawlicek.
The Spanish stage will see the GT4s once again appearing. They will compete in a separate category to the GranTurismo MC Trofeo drivers. Best of the GT4s was Stefano Gai (1:47.145 and fourth overall) with series leader, Frenchman Sicart, coming second in his category and tenth in all. New on the scene is Dario Bertanza who will be making his GT4 debut in this weekend’s two races.



Free practice 1

014ZumerleGranTurismo MC Trofeo1:45.538
0227RotaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+0.871
0316NecchiGranTurismo MC Trofeo+0.904
0438GaiGranTurismo MC Trofeo+1.607
0525Ardagna PerezGranTurismo MC Trofeo+1.855
0628SmurraGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.084
076Goldstein/SundbergGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.364
0815MaggiGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.641
0912La MazzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.900
1032SicartGranTurismo MC Trofeo+4.546
1118Gomez BlancoGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.037
128HernandezGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.053
135SeglerGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.396
1414FrazzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+7.600
157PawlicekGranTurismo MC Trofeo+11.410
1639BertanzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+12.910


Stefano Gai quickest in the rain

17/09/2010 - Valencia
The rain was forecast and it arrived bang on time as the drivers rolled out for the second Trofeo Maserati free practice session at Valencia.

Fastest on the track was Stefano Gai (2:01.398) who made the most of the characteristics of the Maserati GranTurismo MC GT4. The cars in this category have less horsepower and narrower tyres which help in the wet. This making things easier for them than the Trofeos towards the end of the session.
Early on, a number of drivers contested top spot, even if for a few minutes each: Necchi, Sundberg, La Mazza and Zumerle. Zumerle topped his class with 2:01.556 to repeat this morning’s performance. Behind him came Paolo Necchi (2:02.356), with Francesco Maggi taking third in 2:02.356.
La Mazza took fourth and will be one of the drivers to watch. The Goldstein/Sundberg pairing claimed fifth in their category with Smurra, Ardagna Perez and Hernandez (the quicker of the two journalists) occupying the places behind them. Rota is in ninth with Frazza, Gomez Blanco, Segler, Bertanza (GT4) coming up next. Bertanza showed he had improved a lot over the morning session. At the back of the field is Sicart (GT4) and Pawlicek.
Unfortunately Sergio Rota only ran a few laps after suffering a problem with his car and could not really push for a quick lap.



Free practice 2

0138GaiGranTurismo MC Trofeo2:01.398
024ZumerleGranTurismo MC Trofeo0.168
0316NecchiGranTurismo MC Trofeo0.958
0415MaggiGranTurismo MC Trofeo2.676
0512La MazzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo2.929
066Goldstein/SundbergGranTurismo MC Trofeo7.748
0728SmurraGranTurismo MC Trofeo7.992
0825Ardagna PerezGranTurismo MC Trofeo9.137
098HernandezGranTurismo MC Trofeo12.033
1027RotaGranTurismo MC Trofeo14.840
1114FrazzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo15.040
1218Gomez BlancoGranTurismo MC Trofeo16.054
135SeglerGranTurismo MC Trofeo16.727
1439BertanzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo21.140
1532SicartGranTurismo MC Trofeo21.326
167PawlicekGranTurismo MC Trofeo24.694


Radio Monte Carlo
MEDIA PARTNER» Official website


The racing collection!


Win a first row seat!
ONLINE COMPETITION» Discover the competition!


Watch the races on the Web TV