Free practice

Mugello - ITA

Free practice 1, Bertolini first

Andrea Bertolini was quickest in the first free practice session at Mugello.

The three-time FIA GT champion used all his experience of the circuit to post a seemingly effortless 2’00”543. In second came the Goldstein/Sundberg crew (2’02”941) as they showed that they can compete whatever the circuit. It was a clear message of intent sent by the two to current series leader Pietro Zumerle (fourth in 2’03”196).

Zumerle ended the session behind Paolo Necchi (2’03”140) but one position up on Sergio Rota (2’03”282). There is not much between the drivers, something that shows how close things are in the title race. One name missing from the leaderboard is Ardagna Perez, but this is his first outing at Mugello. On the plus side, Davide Baldi's performance shone through. The 2009 Italian Climbing champion was making his debut in a Maserati and he turned on the style and pace to match the leaders to come sixth overall. He wasn't the only driver in form in this session: Belgian Louis Machiels, also making his debut in the series, came home seventh. Just behind him came Leonardo Maddalena and Alberto Sabbatini, director of Autosprint.

Over in GT4, the Coldani/Gallina duo finished twelfth, edging out Cedric Sbirrazzuoli and Kessel/Wyss.

Free practice 1

1 40Bertolini AndreaGranTurismo MC Trofeo2’00.543
2 6Goldstein / SundbergGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.398
3 16Necchi PaoloGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.597
4 4Zumerle PietroGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.653
5 27Rota SergioGranTurismo MC Trofeo+2.739
6 48Baldi DavideGranTurismo MC Trofeo+3.526
7 10Machiels LouisGranTurismo MC Trofeo+4.045
8 33Leonardo MaddalenaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+4.516
9 8Sabbatini / MocciaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+4.991
10 2Niek HommersonGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.136
11 12La Mazza FrancescoGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.582
12 38Kessel / GallinaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.834
13 99CedricGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.842
14 39Kessel / WyssGranTurismo MC Trofeo+5.957
15 15Maggi FrancescoGranTurismo MC Trofeo+6.003
16 25Ardanga Perez GaetanoGranTurismo MC Trofeo+6.105
17 46Camassa AntonioGranTurismo MC Trofeo+6.984
18 3Piancastelli NicolòGranTurismo MC Trofeo+7.104
19 5Segler AndreasGranTurismo MC Trofeo+7.284
20 14Frazza TizianoGranTurismo MC Trofeo+7.298
21 11Lanting MartinGranTurismo MC Trofeo+7.359
22 50Negra PietroGranTurismo MC Trofeo+7.449
23 7Pawlicek MarcelGranTurismo MC Trofeo+11.613
24 29Larciprete MassimoGranTurismo MC Trofeo+11.754
25 44RossocorsaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+18.511

Bertolini against Gardel, as in 2005...

With dusk falling over the ribbon of Tuscan track, Andrea Bertolini continued his development of the Trofeo's 2011 technical solutions.

In doing so, he built a healthy advantage over the pack: the Modenese driver's time of 2’02”123 was over 2” quicker than Gabriele Gardel in the GT4 version of the Trofeo.

The two have often matched up in the FIA GT championship but this was Gardel's first time in the Trofeo and he felt at home in the car straight away.

The second free practice session saw a few drivers normally up with the lead pace fall back a little. Replacing them were Davide Baldi (2’04”634) and Luigi Moccia (2’04”824). Moccia will team up with Autosprint director, Alberto Sabbatini, this weekend.

Just a thousandth down on the 'press' crew is Nicolò Piancastelli, who made up for losing ground in session 1 with a technical problem. The Trofeo's youngest driver is making a return after missing two races and made the most of his knowledge of the Tuscan circuit to move back into the places that matter. He is just ahead of the two going for the title: overall leader Pietro Zumerle (2’04”959) and the Steven Goldstein/Peter Sundberg (2’05”041) pairing.

Next up is Rota and then comes Machiels, from Belgium. Behind the two come Paolo Necchi, Ardagna Perez and Cedric Sbirrazzuoli.



Free practice 2

1 40Andrea BertoliniGranTurismo MC Trofeo2’02.123
2 43Gabriel GardelGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 2.095
3 48Davide BaldiGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 2.511
4 8Sabbatini/MocciaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 2.701
5 3Piancastelli NiccolòGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 2.702
6 4Pietro ZumerleGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 2.836
7 6Goldstein/SundbergGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 2.918
8 27Sergio RotaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 3.297
9 10Louis MachielsGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 3.540
10 16Paolo NecchiGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 3.624
11 25Gaetano Ardagna PerezGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 4.551
12 99Cedric SbirrazzuoliGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 4.844
13 15Francesco MaggiGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 5.285
14 12Francesco La MazzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 5.389
15 33Leonardo MaddalenaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 5.573
16 50Pietro NegraGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 5.920
17 39Kessel/WyssGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 6.010
18 2Niek HommersonGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 6.049
19 5Andreas SeglerGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 7.329
20 14Tiziano FrazzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 8.078
21 38Gallina/ColdaniGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 8.152
22 11Martin LantingGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 8.296
23 46Antonio CamassaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 10.058
24 7Marcel PawlicekGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 10.897
25 29Massimo LarcipreteGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 13.282
26 44Dario BertanzaGranTurismo MC Trofeo+ 18.199

  • Pirelli
  • Sparco