The race - Copyright Maserati/Mario Chiarappa

Qualifying race

San Luis - ARG


Maserati crowned World Champions

05/12/2010 - San Luis
Michael Bartels and Andrea Bertolini are the 2010 World FIA GT1 champions.

Already reigning champions, the duo in the Vitaphone Racing Team Maserati MC12 pocketed their fourth Drivers title (their third in succession) at the end of the Qualifying Race in San Luis, Argentina.

The morning session saw victory go to the Aston Martin driven by Makowiecki/Clairy. Right after the start, their car was involved in a crash with two other Astons, the N. 10 crewed by Piccione/Hirschi and the N. 8 with Mucke/Maria Lopez on board. But it was the N.8 car that came off worst and it was forced to retire after a few hundred metres, removing one of the favourites and yesterday's pole man, Argentine Cochito Lopez, from the running.

Bartels/Bertolini's session was compromised by a lap-two clash with the N.24 Lamborghini and this saw the Maserati slide into last place. The safety car came on straight after the incident to allow Kox/Haase's car to be moved from its dangerous position on the track.

Despite the accident, Bartels was able to finish his stint to ensure Maserati the title. This was in the bag all the way as the Maserati crew's main rivals, Turner/Enge, were never in the top-three points zone. After the pit stop, the black and green car climbed a few places and the situation for the other contenders did not improve. At the chequered flag the 28 place difference was enough to give the title to Bartels/Bertolini. Even if they win this afternoon's Championship Race, Turner/Enge can only collect a maximum of 25 points.

What makes this result even sweeter is that the Vitaphone Racing Team has also made sure of the Teams title.

The result of the Qualifying Race has, as usual, determined the grid line up for the Championship Race. This afternoon, Pier Guidi/Verdonck will be in eighth, Heger/Mueller in eleventh, Bartels/Bertolini in twelfth and Bernoldi/Ramos in sixteenth. The final 60 minutes will decide who takes the Manufacturers crown.


019Makowiecki / ClairayAston Martin DB957:35.613
025Westbrook / MutschFord GT Matech+ 13.029
0340Martin / LeindersFord GT+ 13.477
0410Piccione / HirschiAston Martin DB9+ 22.205
0525Kechele / JimenezLamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S+ 26.195
0623Dumbreck / KrummNissan GT - R+ 28.206
073Wendlinger / MoserNissan GT - R+ 29.587
0834Pier Guidi / VerdonckMaserati MC12+ 31.065
0938Pastorelli / SchwagerLamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S+ 34.182
107Turner / EngeAston Martin DB9+ 35.849
1133Müller / HegerMaserati MC12+ 42.835
121Bertolini / BartelsMaserati MC12+ 43.383
1322Campbell-Walter / HughesNissan GT - R+ 45.326
1437Risatti / BassengLamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S+ 49.560
1541Palttala / BobbiFord GT+ 50.247
162Bernoldi / RamosMaserati MC12+ 52.989
176Jani / ArmindoFord GT Matech+ 2:06.747
1813Hennerici / MargaritisCorvette Z06+ 5:38.795
1924Kox / HaaseLamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S+ 55:10.942